Dentsply awards the 2014 Student Clinicians of the American Dental Association

Nov. 11, 2014
Dentsply International assembled the 55th Annual American Dental Association (ADA) Dentsply Student Clinician Research Program and Reception on October 11, 2014. The awards program took place in San Antonio at the Institute of Texan Cultures, during the 2014 ADA Annual Session. Approximately 70 student clinicians participated in this year’s program representing research conducted across 39 countries.

The Student Clinician Research Program (SCADA) began during the centennial session of the ADA in New York City in 1959, as a joint venture between Dentsply and the ADA. Dr. Harold Hillenbrand, then Executive Director of the ADA and Mr. Henry M. Thornton, then President of Dentsply International, initiated the first program in New York City to promote student research and participation in organized dentistry.

Today more than 5,000 students participate in this program annually, including students from 39 countries. Originally, the program consisted of a table clinic presentation where students demonstrated a new technique. It has grown immensely, with students currently presenting their research results of their clinical, basic science or public health research.

Awards are presented in each category for first, second and third place. The scientific presentations are divided into two categories: Basic Science Research and Clinical Science/Public Health Research. First place recipients in both categories receive $750 each and a travel prize to present their research at the Hinman Dental Meeting in Atlanta. Second place winners receive $750 and third place winners receive $500.

Dr. Terri Dolan, VP and Chief Clinical Officer for Dentsply International, praised the participating 58 pre-doctoral dental student clinicians from the U.S. Dental Schools and the winning students from throughout the world. “It was a great honor to meet these outstanding student clinicians from around the globe. They are clearly among the most accomplished and promising students currently enrolled in dental schools from around the world, and it was a pleasure to learn more about their research projects, as well as their personal and professional ambitions. Their enthusiasm for dentistry and oral health was infectious. The dental profession is in great hands, and I have no doubt that these women and men will become our next generation of leaders in dentistry.

The 2014 ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Research Program winners are:

Category I: Clinical Science / Public Health Research
First place:
Jonathan Yih
, Oregon Health & Science University
: "Thiourethane Oligomers Improve the Properties of Light-Cured Resin Cements"

Second place: Petros Yoon
, University of Colorado
: "Redesigning Water Compatible Dental Adhesive Resins"

Third place: Marion Harris
, Meharry Medical College: "Violence and Abuse Across the Lifespan: Correlation Among Facial Injuries, Biomarkers, and Health Disparities: A Systematic Review"

Matthew Freyer
, University of Nebraska Medical Center: "Curing Effectiveness of Resin Cements for Porcelain Veneer Restoration"

Category II: Basic Science Research
First place:
Lior Aljadeff
, University of Michigan
: "Histomorphology, EMT, and Stemness Markers Characterize Invasive Tumor Front Behavior and Predict Overall Survival in Oral Squamous Cell Carinoma"

Second place: Renee Kojanis, New York University
: "Molecular Events in Mid-Palatal Suture During Maxillary Expansion in Rats"

Third place: Brian Han, Ohio State University
: "Fenretinide Perturbs Focal Adhesion Kinase’s ECM Interactive and Cell Signaling Capacities"

International award-winning student clinicians from four continents also attended the 55th Annual ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Research Program. This group of extraordinary students presented the results of their clinical, basic science or public health research presentations in their respective countries, winning first prize and an expense-paid trip to the 2014 ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Research Program. The 14 dental schools represented by students include University of Saskatchewan, Sichuan University, University of Bordeaux, Sibar Institute of Dental Sciences – Guntur, Univeristy of Indonesia, Showa University School of Dentistry, Universidad de la Salle Bajio, University of Groningen, University of Pretoria, Wonkwang University, University of Bern – Switzerland, National Taiwan University, Mahidol University, and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

In addition to the student awards, SCADA grants fellowship funding to qualified members to help support their graduate education. SCADA also presents a faculty advisor award annually to honor the efforts of faculty in their mentoring of student research and an achievement award for outstanding dedication to the profession.
For 46 years, the Alan J. Davis / SCADA Achievement Award, a prestigious dental honor named in honor of SCADA’s first Corresponding Secretary, has been awarded for outstanding service to the dental profession, or to SCADA itself. Dr. Richard W. Valachovicreceived the Alan J. Davis/SCADA Achievement Award during the Dentsply hosted
Awards Program conducted during the 155th American Dental Association Annual Session in San Antonio.The Burton C. Borgelt Faculty Advisor Award, named for a former CEO of Dentsply, recognizes the work of a faculty member who is committed to mentoring students in research at his or her university. Dr. Mary Walker received the 2014 Burton C. Borgelt/SCADA Faculty Advisor Award.

SCADA started a Fellowship Fund 39 years ago, named in honor of the late Henry M. Thornton, Dentsply’s Chairman Emeritus, whose vision created this program. The fund was designed to support our student clinicians as they pursue post-doctoral dental education programs or specialty training. Since 1976, SCADA has awarded $89,000 in fellowship grants. This year, SCADA presented the forty-fifth grant for $2,500 to Dr. Kyle Holmberg Vining. Dr. Holmberg Vining represented the University of Minnesota in the 2011 ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Research Program. He graduated from dental school in 2013 and is currently pursuing his PhD at Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences to which this fellowship will be applied.

Students who present their research at their national research program become members of SCADA, an alumni association designed for former student clinicians. Members of SCADA serve as judges for future Student Clinician Research Programs, held in conjunction with the ADA Annual Session. To learn more about SCADA, visit