ADA installs new president, officers, trustees at 154th ADA Annual Session in New Orleans

Nov. 6, 2013

Charles H. Norman III, D.D.S., of Greensboro, N.C., was recently installed as the 2013-2014 president of the American Dental Association (ADA) during the ADA’s Annual Session in New Orleans.

Maxine Feinberg, D.D.S., was chosen as the ADA’s new president-elect, Jonathan Shenkin, D.D.S., as Second Vice President, and Gary E. Jeffers, D.M.D., Alvin W. Stevens Jr., D.M.D., and Andrew T. Kwasny, D.M.D., were chosen as new members of the ADA Board of Trustees. RELATED: ADA Annual Session 2013: Recap on dental technology

ADA President Dr. Charles Norman
Dr. Norman will lead the 157,000-member ADA for one year. Prior to becoming president, Dr. Norman served as the ADA’s president-elect from 2012-2013.

A 1977 graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry, Dr. Norman shares a dental practice with his son, Dr. Matt Norman in Greensboro, N.C.

ADA President-Elect Maxine Feinberg, D.D.S.
Dr. Feinberg will serve as president-elect for one year and will assume the role of president of the ADA in October 2014. Dr. Feinberg formerly served as Fourth District Trustee to the ADA House of Delegates and is a former president of the New Jersey Dental Association, the first woman to serve in that position.

A graduate of New York University and the New York University College of Dentistry, Dr. Feinberg maintains a private practice in periodontics in Cranford, N.J.

ADA Second Vice President Jonathan Shenkin, D.D.S.
Dr. Shenkin will serve on the ADA Board of Trustees as the second vice president. The ADA Board formulates and reviews policies and programs and makes recommendations to the members of the ADA's governing body, the ADA House of Delegates.

Dr. Shenkin is a former president of the Maine Dental Association and former chair of the ADA Council on Communications. He currently serves as an ADA spokesperson on pediatric dentistry issues.

Dr. Shenkin earned his dental degree from Columbia University in New York and a Masters in Public Health from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore where he also earned a Certificate in Health Care Finance and Management. Dr. Shenkin practices pediatric dentistry in Augusta, Maine.

Third District Trustee Andrew J. Kwasny, D.M.D.
Dr. Kwasny will serve on the ADA Board of Trustees as the trustee from the Third District, which encompasses the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Dr. Kwasny attended the University of Pittsburgh where he earned advanced degrees in microbiology, dentistry and orthodontics. He practices orthodontics in Erie, Pa.

Fourth District Trustee Jeffrey M. Cole, D.D.S., M.B.A.
Dr. Cole will serve on the ADA Board of Trustees as the trustee from the Fourth District, which encompasses the states of New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Island as well as the Federal Dental Services. Dr. Cole earned his dental degree from Georgetown University School of Dentistry and a master’s of business administration from the Fox School of Business and Management of Temple University in Philadelphia. Dr. Cole maintains a private practice in Wilmington, Del.

Fifth District Trustee Alvin W. Stevens Jr., DM.D.
Dr. Stevens will serve on the ADA Board of Trustees as the trustee from the Fifth District, which encompasses the states of Alabama, Georgia and Mississippi. Dr. Stevens earned his dental degree from the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry and serves as an associate professor at the school’s Department of Periodontology. He also maintains a private periodontics practice in Birmingham.

Ninth District Trustee Gary E. Jeffers, D.M.D.
Dr. Jeffers will serve on the ADA Board of Trustees as the trustee from the Ninth District, which encompasses the states of Michigan and Wisconsin.

Dr. Jeffers earned his dental degree at the University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine and certificates in oral and maxillofacial surgery and anesthesiology at Emory University Schools of Dentistry/Medicine in Atlanta. He is the director of Dental Admissions at the University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry.
On the road at the ADA Annual Session
New products to see at the ADA